Fatehpur Sikri: A City Of Architectural Brilliance

Fatehpur Sikri, located near Agra, is a fortified city that served as the Mughal Empire’s capital in the late 16th century. However, the city was only used for 14 years before being abandoned completely around the turn of the century. This old city is now a UNESCO World Heritage Site and one of Agra’s most popular tourist destinations. Fatehpur Sikri is now a prominent tourist attraction in Agra and one of the most important historical structures from the Mughal era. Due to its architectural beauty and historical significance, the abandoned city was designated as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1986.

Fatehpur Sikri: History

Fatehpur Sikri Agra (Timings, History, Entry Fee, Images, Built by &  Information) - Agra Tourism 2021
A top view of the fort

Fatehpur Sikri, constructed in 1571 by Mughal Emperor Akbar, is considered his crowning architectural achievement. Part of the city’s name comes from a town called Sikri, which once stood on the exact place where it was built. According to legend, Akbar visited this village and sought advice from a Sufi mystic named Shaikh Salim Chishti. The saint predicted his heir’s birth, and when the prophesy came true, Akbar began building his capital in the village.


When the colonial rulers took control of Agra in 1803, they created an administrative base here that lasted until 1850. The Marquess of Hastings ordered the monuments at Fatehpur Sikri to be renovated in 1815.

Fatehpur Sikri Architecture

Fatehpur Sikri in India: The Complete Guide

Fatehpur Sikri is a fortified city surrounded on three sides by 6-kilometer-long defensive walls with multiple entryways, and on the fourth side by an artificial lake. The Indo-Islamic architectural style is used to build the city, which is made of red sandstone.


The city is adorned with a plethora of palaces, mosques, monuments, public buildings, and other structures, all of which are architecturally stunning. Akbar also erected three palaces for each of his three favourite ladies within this guarded metropolis. The city is also divided into eight gates, including the Delhi Gate, the Agra Gate, the Lal Gate, the Gwalior Gate, and the Ajmeri Gate, among others.

Written By Ankit Lad | Subscribe To Our Telegram Channel To Get Latest Updates And Don’t Forget To Follow Our Social Media Handles Facebook Instagram LinkedIn Twitter. To Get the Latest Updates From Arco Unico


Start typing and press Enter to search

live draw data toto macau data macau toto macau Toto Togel rupiahtoto rupiahtoto rupiah toto servertogel togel4d Buku Mimpi Rupiah Toto rupiahtoto Erek Erek 2d 3d 4d Situs Toto Macau Rupiah Toto Toto Macau Rupiah Toto Bo Togel rupiahtoto rupiahtoto bo togel online dan pusat toto togel resmi toto togel servertogel a> togel kamboja bar4bet สล็อตpg garasislot situs slot gacor deposit pulsa depo 25 bonus 25 toto togel 4d rupiahtoto data macau result toto macau servertogel togel4d situs togel 4d slot lucky neko lucky neko slot pgsoft rupiahtoto prediksi totel toto macau data macau rupiahtoto data macau rupiahtoto situs togel online hadiah toto 4d terbesar servertogel togel kamboja | live draw kamboja | hasil keluaran kamboja garasislot situs slot gacor pg soft garasislot situs idn slot gacor rupiahtoto toto slot idn rupiahtoto toto slot idn rupiahtoto bo togel online